King Richard Stars Will Smith, Aunjanue Ellis To Receive Santa Barbara Film Festival Outstanding Performers Of The Year Award

EXCLUSIVE: Continuing the acclaim they have been receiving since King Richard debuted at the Telluride Film Festival over Labor Day weekend, Will Smith and Aunjanue Ellis have been named recipients of the 37th Annual Santa Barbara International Film Festival’s Outstanding Performers Of The Year Award. This is the first of several honors to be announced by the Festival which has become a must-stop on the awards circuit with their winners often going on to take the Oscar. No specific date has yet been announced for the Smith and Ellis evening but it will take place between March 2 -12, 2022 which are SBIFF’s official dates. An on stage conversation about their individual cinematic careers will lead up to the presentation.

“We’re so excited to be able to salute the incomparable Will Smith and the revelatory Aunjanue Ellis with this award. The ‘doubles match’ of their intricate relationship onscreen as Richard and Oracene in King Richard is electrifying and a joy to behold,” remarked SBIFF’s Executive Director Roger Durling.

KIng Richard, which Warner Bros will release in theatres and on HBO Max November 19 is based on the true story that follows the journey of Richard Williams, an undeterred father instrumental in raising two of the most extraordinarily gifted athletes of all time, Venus and Serena Williams and their triumphs in the world of Tennis.  Smith, a two-time Oscar nominee (“Ali,” “The Pursuit of Happiness,” ) stars as Richard. Ellis, a recent Emmy nominee for Lovecraft Country plays Oracene, the girls’ mother. Driven by a clear vision of their future and using unconventional methods, Richard has a plan that will take Venus (played by Saniyya Sidney) and Serena  (played by Demi Singleton) from the streets of Compton, California to the global stage as legendary icons.

SBIFF’s  Outstanding Performers of the Year Award recognizes select individuals who have distinguished themselves with exceptional performances in film this past year. Past recipients of the award include Sacha Baron Cohen, Adam Driver, Rami Malek, Margot Robbie and Allison Janney, Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone, Brie Larson and Saoirse Ronan, Steve Carell, Cate Blanchett, Jennifer Lawrence, Viola Davis, James Franco, Colin Firth, Penelope Cruz, Angelina Jolie, Helen Mirren, Heath Ledger, Kate Winslet and Charlize Theron.

Official events including screenings, filmmaker Q&As, industry panels, and celebrity tributes, will be held throughout Santa Barbara for the festival, including at the historic Arlington Theatre. This year’s complete lineup will be announced in February 2022.

Must Read Stories

MGM Ramps Up ‘Road House’ Reboot With Jake Gyllenhaal & Doug Liman Circling

Disney Shares Extend Losses; Investors Sweat Streaming Growth As Disney+ Turns 2

Good Boy: ‘Clifford The Big Red Dog’ Fetches $2.3M Opening Day, Gets ‘A’ CinemaScore

‘Fatal Attraction’ Starring Lizzy Caplan As Alex Gets Paramount + Series Order

Read More About:

Source: Read Full Article